SwiftVets.com Forum Index SwiftVets.com
Service to Country

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Thurlow, Kerry, Bronze Stars
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    SwiftVets.com Forum Index -> Resources & Research
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Ijon Tichy
Seaman Recruit

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 4:30 pm    Post subject: Thurlow, Kerry, Bronze Stars Reply with quote

Hi, I'm new to this discussion board and I'm not a veteran of the armed services (respect and props to those of you who are).

One particular allegation regarding the Kerry bronze star incident seems potentially legitimate to me.
Afaics, the bronze star is awarded when there is active enemy fire involved. I've seen accounts that credit Thurlow with receiving a bronze star under conditions relatively similar to those under which Kerry received his (for his rescue of crewmembers in the water, evidently).

I don't know if Thurlow actually did receive a bronze star for his service in that situation or not, but if he did was it a mistake similar to that made in awarding one to Kerry (under the assumption that it is true that there was no active enemy fire)?

Are mines "passive" enemy fire? Is there some distinction that's being overlooked?
Thanks in advance for any assistance in clarifying this issue!
Ijon Tichy
Seaman Recruit

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, from reading some other threads I've got a theory that might establish a proper rationale for Thurlow's medal while leaving doubt as to the deservedness of Kerry's:

When the mine disabled the first boat, there was enemy fire directed at the crewmembers.