SwiftVets.com Forum Index SwiftVets.com
Service to Country

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Legal question
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    SwiftVets.com Forum Index -> Swift Vets and POWs for Truth
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Nomorelies
Vice Admiral

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:00 am    Post subject: Legal question Reply with quote

Out of idle curiosity, just how long is the statute of limitations for treason? Anybody out there know?
thegunnerswife
Seaman Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to look into it for you. So far the consensus is that there isn't one.
republicanveteran
Commander

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not a lawyer, but since treason is punishable by the death penalty. I don't believe there is one
Nomorelies
Vice Admiral

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:30 am    Post subject: Next question Reply with quote

If there is no statute of limitations for treason, can ordinary citizens bring charges of treason against someone? Something like a citizen's arrest? Or, like a class-action kind of thing?
ASPB
Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:32 am    Post subject: Re: Next question Reply with quote

Nomorelies wrote:
If there is no statute of limitations for treason, can ordinary citizens bring charges of treason against someone? Something like a citizen's arrest? Or, like a class-action kind of thing?

Unfortunately, I belive only the government can bring such charges and politically that's just not going to happen.
thegunnerswife
Seaman Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote