SwiftVets.com Forum Index SwiftVets.com
Service to Country

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

A disgrace

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SwiftVets.com Forum Index -> Election Day 2004 - Read Only
View previous topic :: View next topic  
american86
Seaman Recruit

PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 4:00 am    Post subject: A disgrace Reply with quote

Hi everybody, this is my first time writing in. I'm an Army ROTC student and a devout follower of George Bush and am still overjoyed that he is still our President. I recently read the book Unfit for Command, and what had once been respect for John Kerry, who I had been led to believe had been an American hero in the Vietnam War, turned to outright disgust when I realized the agony he caused to too many of our country's true heroes, dead or alive. This morning, I turned to MSNBC to see how other channels were reporting the election(I'm a foxnews guy myself). Dan Imus was speaking about the election as it became obvious that George Bush had again won the election. However, as the conversation turned to 527 groups, and the Swift Vets for Truth, he described the TRUE veterans, true heroes who fought for their country and were treated horribly by a selfish, ungrateful public, as "fat, old, drunks," and "war criminals". I hope that every single person who reads this article shares my disgust that someone who has sat behind a desk his whole life has the audacity to accuse our nation's soldiers of being war criminals. All too often our Vietnam veterans have been scorned because of the lies spread by people such as John Kerry or Jane Fonda. I had honestly believed that such idiotic lies had all been ignored, despite Platoon and Apocolyspe Now playing every other day. I just