SwiftVets.com Forum Index SwiftVets.com
Service to Country

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Swiftee, Swifty or Swiftie?
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    SwiftVets.com Forum Index -> Swift Vets and POWs for Truth
View previous topic :: View next topic  
BuffaloJack
Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy

PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 9:30 pm    Post subject: Swiftee, Swifty or Swiftie? Reply with quote

Which is the correct spelling Swiftee, Swifty or Swiftie?
Two years ago I was simply a Viet Nam Veteran or a swiftboat sailor depending upon which website I was visiting; and occasionally I was a swiftboat veteran for the same reason. Through circumstance and the luck of the draw, I served aboard several Vietnamese Navy PCFs as an advisor during '70 and '71. I was never politically active, but voted in every presidential election from 1964 to the present. When I left the service in late '71, I was advised to not wear my uniform while in transit, but to wear civvies instead, so that I could avoid getting harassed and spit on. I did this as a means of self protection, but hated John Kerry and everyone associated with VVAW and their draft dodging friends while doing it.